Donald Ross designed the original 9-hole course, Moor Park, for Burlington Mill in 1948. The course was designed for exclusive use by Burlington Mill employees. The course was sold to the Town of Mooresville in the mid-70s, when the name was changed to the Mooresville Municipal Golf Course. In 1978, Mayor Joe Knox received a federal grant to design the back 9 and add a clubhouse. The back 9-holes were designed by Porter Gibson. The course remained unchanged until 2014 when the Town of Mooresville’s citizens approved recreation bonds to renovate the course. The course redesign was completed by KSGD in 2016.
The current course features a new layout with a links style golf experience. Upgrades include: 70 bunkers, 5.2 miles of concrete cart paths, a dual-sided driving range and short game practice area, as well as double row irrigation with more than 1,200 sprinkler heads.